I walked up Snowdon quite a lot of times in my youth and I later took my children up the Miners' Track (in cold and miserable weather) in 1998 - see the extra photo.  And today I walked up Snowdon with S, going via the Watkin Path and descending along the south ridge before re-joining the Watkin Path near the bottom.

This wasn't taken from the summit because there were far too many people about, in fact neither of us had seen Snowdon so busy but it may have been because the Snowdonia Slateman Triathlon was taking place this weekend, (click on the link's GPS tab for the various routes),  so we'd just begun to descend when I took this and it shows Llyn Padarn in the background.

The weather was fabulous, with the cloud clearing from the summit before we got there, so we had some great views... when we weren't being blown away, but I was glad of my hat and gloves.  After a visit to Joe Brown's in Capel Curig and a couple of other outdoor shops, we set off back to Derby, stopping for a meal on the way.

8.15 miles
3714 feet of ascent
5hrs 25mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.