Perfect Bed & Breakfast!

I am staying with my cousins here in Michigan, near Muskegon.  No wonder I love visiting - not only do I finally relax here, but look at this great service - Breakfast in bed!  Not only that, but constant cuddles from Buddy, their dog.  

After a lazy morning, I drove to Grand Rapids, an hour away, and visited my Uncle Dick and Aunt Eloise.  We caught up with all our news, went out to a Belgian Brewpub for dinner (no dull dinner dates with this couple!) and finished off the evening at an iconic local ice-cream parlour, Jersey Junction.  (See the 'extra' photo).

This friendly and popular ice-cream parlour is 52 years old and was started by Doris Van Allsburg.  Besides being famous for her ice-cream parlour, she is also the mother of Chris Van Allsburg, author and illustrator of several children's classics, including Polar Express.  

People in Michigan really love their ice-cream, and there are several well-known Michigan brands.  I really need to remember that 2 scoops in the US is not necessarily the same as 2 scoops in the UK!   I had Seaside Caramel (Chocolate covered salted caramels in vanilla flavored ice cream with a salted caramel ribbon) topped with Michigan Deer Traxx (Peanut butter cups and thick chocolate fudge in vanilla flavored ice cream).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.