Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Euro-Dog!

Hello Blipfriends!
Dolly reporting today - from Belgium!!

We are on Holiday!!  And for the first time in my life, I have left the UK! A few weeks ago, Mum said we were going to go on a ferry, but she changed her mind when she found out that taking a dog on the Eurotunnel was much easier than on a ferry. So even though our blip from yesterday was from the port at Dover, we really left from the Eurotunnel port near Folkestone!  

There were TWO best parts of going on the Eurotunnel. Firstly - they have a fab Walkies area before you board the train!  They even had special parking places for cars with dogs in them!  They were marked with paw prints - kind of like how at the supermarket there are parking spaces with pictures of grown ups with children. I met some other dogs who were going on the train too. Mum got very excited about all the agility equipment. My blipfriend Alice would have loved it, but I'm a little old to be learning agility tricks!  Plus it was too early in the morning!  

The other best part of the Eurotunnel experience is that I got to stay WITH Mum!  Or should I say, she got to stay with me!  On the ferry she would have had to have gone on the passenger deck while leaving me in the car. Neither of us liked the idea of that!  The crossing was only 35 minutes, much of it underground. Mum stopped ahead of time to get some coffee and a sausage and egg roll, so we had a breakfast picnic!  Under the English Channel!  Wow!  

After we got to France, we drove a couple of hours and ended up in yet another country - Belgium!  We are staying in a lovely little cottage in the countryside east of Bruges. There are lots of chickens, cows, sheep, goats and dogs, so it's not exactly quiet, but we like the farm animal sounds!  There are also farmyard SMELLS - not so nice!

We enjoyed the afternoon sitting out in our private courtyard garden. Mum had tea and read her book and I snoozed in my bed - I'm glad mum brought it with!

We went into a nearby town to look for somewhere to have dinner. There was almost nothing open as it was Sunday, so we ended up at McDonalds!  That's a RARE treat for me!!  Mum isn't a big fan, but she enjoyed it just the same!  

Extra Photo:
Last night we stayed overnight in Folkestone. Mum found a good rate at a hotel that allowed dogs. A friend later told her that Folkestone was rather shabby - she was right!  But the hotel was clean and the bed comfortable, even though they made us put a funny sign on the door!  Mum said it was so that the cleaning staff would know not to come in if I was in there. Why not?  Our cleaning lady comes even when I'm home alone!  Some humans are weird! The hotel seemed to specialize in coach trips with lots of old ladies!  Mum took a few pictures during our morning walkie. To show the not-so-shabby scenes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.