One lucky driver...

On the way into work this morning I stopped off at a local shop for some milk to use in tea. As a consequence, I was a few minutes later than normal.

Had I not bothered I may have missed this or possibly even been involved in it.

Apologies for the quality but it is a frame from the video off my dash cam so resolution is not huge.

It looks like the driver was coming from the same direction as me, but, having come down the hill and around the sharp bend which is just behind me - it looks like the car swapped ends dramatically throwing it across the road and causing it to somersault into the ditch under the bushes. 

It had happened just a minute or so before I got there. Knowing how fast some of the traffic comes down the road and round this bend (even parents taking their kids to the infant school just 100m further up this road) I decided to stop to make sure no one else decided to join the scene of the original accident.

Having parked up a little further up the road I walked back and one of the guys there shouted that they'd just got the driver out, severely shaken but remarkably uninjured by the sounds of it.

I stood pretty much where this image was taken to slow  traffic down that can't see this little scene as you descend the hill into the bend and awaited the troops. Miraculously, they arrived literally moments later - by that I really mean the troops! A security patrol from the barracks close-by came down and stopped to help. The police and ambulance took another 10-15 minutes.

As you can see the car is upside down and facing the wrong way. Not a single panel appeared to be undamaged and most of the glass gone. A mile or so faster and the car would have landed on a steel fence hidden under the hedge and the consequences could have been a whole lot worse. 

I wish I could say its the first time there's been an accident here - sadly it's not, nor I expect, will it be the last. Thankfully on this occasion the driver will be home tonight to tell their family about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.