Carrots

I'm sort of wishing that Thursday had been a normal sort of Thursday. It was not.  I spent the morning at work with our community hygienist looking at preschooler's teeth.  It was delightful.  We were just getting the kids that had been absent in March when we visited.  We actually had few kids CRY because we were NOT going to check their teeth again.  Silly kids.  So great that they are having a good dental experience though.  

Around noon I gather a few of my co-worker friends, and we went to visit our old boss.  It had been more than a year since our last visit....and I just felt this strong urge to pull together a visit.  It is a darn good thing.  We had no idea that his Cancer had progressed to the point that he was as unwell as he was. He has always been very frank about things....and well...he is dying.  We had a nice visit, and some laughs.  He is my work dad.  For 12 or so years.......I saw him 5 days a week, and he was always there for me.  I could talk to him about anything.  I appreciate all that he taught me about work and life.  My heart breaks that his time has come....and I just don't want to think about this world without him in it.  He will be greatly missed.  

It was hard to focus back in on work, but I pulled through.  I fetched Sugar from dance, and headed home.  We were excited to see that Buttercup had had her babies while we were away for the day.  I did a quick feel, and there were some warm little bodies in the nest.  Sugar delighted in feeding the adult rabbits some carrots, and couldn't stop talking about the new babies. She is so excited to hold them soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.