Trisharooni

By trisharooni

The House that Joan and Curt Built

I dropped around to Jolang's this afternoon, to photograph their  'people pole' and enjoy a coffee.
I'm afraid I outstayed my welcome, as I kept being shown examples of Curt's craftsmanship and Joan's beautiful embroideries, and taking more photos.
I have a love of things miniature, so when Curt brought out this house I had to photograph it, especially after hearing the story.
In 1958, after two years in Australia and with two small children, Curt drew up plans and built a scale model of their house.
When he met the bank manager to discuss a loan he was asked if he'd made the model.
When he replied that he had, the manager said, 'The loan's yours!'

Wouldn't happen now:))

Anyway, they both built the house together.
Quite a feat with two small children underfoot.
And the house is still standing.

I have added a few extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.