ESSENCE OF SUMMER

Having done an indoor blip yesterday, I wanted to go out into the garden and was really spoilt for choice with all the flowers that have started blooming.

This beautiful dianthus or common pink, "Letitia Wyatt", has several beautiful blooms so this was my choice for today and with a bit of "faffing around" with my PIP app, I was able to present it like this.

I did go online to try and find out who Letitia Wyatt was, but sadly couldn't find anything out - with a name like that, I am guessing she may have been a gentle lady who loved her garden - very much like my mother-in-law and perhaps her husband propagated these plants and decided to call one after her.

Anyway, here she is blooming where she is planted and filling the air with her wonderful perfume.

Mr. HCB's father loved pinks and carnations, and in fact, just before he and Mr. HCB's mother went on their last holiday before he died suddenly, whilst they were away, he was excited because he had managed to propagate a yellow carnation. It was almost in full bloom when they went - sadly he never got to see it, but Mr. HCB's mother put it in the coffin with him, which I thought was a lovely gesture and I'm sure he would have named it "Joanie" after her.

Our younger son knew about this, although he was very young when his grandfather died, so he wore a carnation in his buttonhole when he attended Mr. HCB's mother's funeral many years later - I remember he got some strange looks, but he just said "I'm wearing this for my Nan" and stood proudly.

Such fond memories of two lovely people, who are no longer with us - so I dedicate this blip to them.

Those we love
don't go away -
they walk beside us
every day,
unseen, unheard,
but always near,
still loved,
still missed,
and very dear.[/b
]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.