THE PROMISE IS THERE.....

.....if only the little strawberry plants don't get smothered and choked by the tendrils of the bindweed in our strawberry patch.

Having waved Mr. HCB to cricket off once again, I decided to go on another little wander round the garden - took lots of photographs of flowers and leaves, but then noticed that the strawberries were blooming profusely.

Although Mr. HCB works very hard in the garden, we always used to work as a team, but since I haven't been able to get out and help, there are jobs that need to be done that should have been done by now.  

Straw underneath the strawberry plants is one of those jobs - so that when the strawberries ripen, they don't get splashed by the soil when it rains.  I'm sure it will get done very soon, but then I remember that I need to be resting, so maybe when cricket has finished for a couple of weeks, Mr HCB will get round to it or perhaps I may even be able to help if he will let me!

There is also quite a lot of bindweed or convolvulus spreading in the bed, and although the flowers are pretty, it is a weed with a habit of choking other plants unless it is eradicated and that in itself is a difficult job, as those who have it in their garden will know!

Despite all that, we are hoping for a good crop of strawberries and I understand they are very good in champagne, but that's not my favourite way of eating them.  I can almost taste them in one of my lovely dishes, with a BIG dollop of double cream - heaven!  They are also good straight off the plant, just warmed by the sun.  Come on summer - we are waiting for you!

Made me think about our children and grandchildren - we bring them up to the best of our ability, and then when we have to let them go out into the world, we hope and pray that all we have taught them will bear fruit and that they will not get choked by all the unpleasant and distressing things around them.  

It is often up to us, particularly in our homes to ensure that they are surrounded by good things and kind words and actions, because after all, you wouldn't feed your child poison, would you?  

“A good example 
is the best gift you can offer 
to your children (or grandchildren)
In your absence, 
your example is present, 
which means you are present 
ALWAYS!” 
Israelmore Ayivor

P.S.  On an exciting note, I have had a Solid State Drive put into my Macbook Pro - it is so fast, I am having a job keeping up with it - makes me realise just how slow it was before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.