BrightNBreezy1

By BrightNBreezy1

Salvation and damnation!

I went out locally to the Church of St Peter and St Paul (Chaldon Church) today. The church is of Saxon times and mentioned in the Domesday Book.

The church has a lovely peaceful feeling and I sat for a while admiring the stained glass windows (family memorials) before taking any photos.

This photo shows a painting on the west wall which dates from about 1170 and is the earliest known English wall painting. It depicts the 'Ladder of Salvation of the Human Soul' together with 'Purgatory and Hell'.

On the lower right of the picture is the 'tree of knowledge of good and evil' - the beginning of the story of the fall of man.

The seven deadly sins and retribution are graphically portrayed and the painting was intended as a visual aid to religious teaching.

I bore the deadly sin of gluttony in mind when I later went shopping!

I caught up with a friend that I'd not seen for a long time - he's also from the north of England so I found myself slipping back into a northern accent!

Just missed the rain and the pc seems to have woken up so all-in-all a good day!    :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.