An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Mottisfont...

After all my recent high energy and weatherly eventful jaunts, a little bit of civility and placidity today by a visit to the nearby National Trust owned 'Mottisfont' www.nationaltrust.org.uk/mottisfont/

Looks good LARGE

Famous for its roses, all in a walled garden and the last time I was there, way back in 2009, they certainly were splendid. Unfortunately, this being May, there were no roses - and to be honest, not  a great deal else as there are so many rose bushes, waiting to bloom...

The Big House, which was rescued and renovated from a derelict medieval priory, back in the early 20c, you see here, is a fine place, lots of fancy rooms and with a really good exhibition space on the top floor. The displays change regularly and it was Lyon's tearooms Lithograph artworks, including a very distinctive Lowry. A lovely vaulted ceiling cellar, in 'monastery' style is well worth seeing too.  

The sculpted gardens are also quite delightful, with a tributary of the River Test diverted (as the wealthy and powerful used to be able to do) and the Trust have made the most of this with walks and features. There are also some very fine trees, included to what is believed the oldest London Plane tree in the country. Tearoom and café is also in a finely suitable part of the old house too, well worth sitting down to, after a long period on one's feet.

I had to get an hourly train that services the villages along the line to Romsey and then it's a mile and a quarter walk. Unfortunately also, they're building a whole new visitor entrance complex, so building noise, mess and a crane.

Unfortunately also is that you have to buy an all-in ticket for £13 each time. Of course, they want you to become a full member (a mere £60 annually) and then you can go in there and indeed any other National Trust property. I'm not saying that being a full member is not a good idea but our area is also served by English Heritage and of course, they are separate entities and you cannot use NT passes to go into EH's etc etc. Also, without a car, I cannot get to most NT properties anyway.

I took my Sigma 105mm macro, for ultra close ups of some of the flowers and stuff and my 16-85mm Nikkor also, which I used here, at f18, to keep the leaves right in front of me reasonably sharp too.

It was nice in its original greens (lots of), with blue sky but a bit of fun fiddling and I came up with this alternative.

What can I say about the response to yesterday's - still  at the very Top of the Pops-  SO many Hearts and Favourites, I won't be able to thank everybody. I've done so for many, but otherwise it'll have to be a big collective THANK YOU!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.