The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stratford park new season cygnets

This was not the shot that I wanted. The April showers were in full force when I nipped out at lunchtime, and the swans would insist on moving around. I took several shots before eventually taking refuge in a tree, sitting astride the trunk in order to get some space away from the ducks who had their eye on my lunchbag. Besides, it was too wet for the bench.

There are five cygnets now. There were six to begin with. One of them, the one on the left, usually swims apart from the others and, according to Lea Anne, has a nasty eye wound. It may have been attacked by another creature. I hope that it will make it, but I know that it doesn't do to get sentimental about nature. Still, I am glad to have seen them at last. They didn't show up when I went to the park last Tuesday. (For some reason of ingrained habit, I only go to the park on Tuesdays, even though Wednesdays and Thursdays would be possible too).

Lea Anne and I went climbing in Gloucester after work. I tried a 6a route ( I normally stick to the 5s) but it was too difficult. I may have been tired, though, it was the end of the evening. I am wondering why my choice of sport is so tough when my job feels tough, physically. Mentally, too, sometimes.These thoughts are being provoked by my latest charity shop find, "Teach us to be still" by Tim Parks. Though I usually find fiction more gripping than non-fiction, I can't put this one down. It's about the author's struggle with chronic prostate pain, and his various attempts to deal with it. Of course, I feel secure in the knowledge that this is one complaint I'll never suffer from....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.