The north east wind did blow

I have posted a couple of grand sunrises over the weekend. The mornings were glorious, and the days fine. This morning was dark, windy and threatening rain. The rain did come later, lashed into the beach house by the wind. The gutters are empty of leaves, so no worry about overflow.

The sky just above the horizon was a dark red when I started out. The ambient light, sufficient for me to see well enough, was insufficient for a photograph with the little camera on its current settings. By the time I got down to Snells Beach there was more light, and I was able to get this picture; by using a wide angle the image is not badly pixilated.

On the right of the image is the cliff at the end of the promontory on which we have our house. Appearing to be a long way off on the horizon is Kawau Island, and on the left is the Tawharanui Peninsula. The wind was blowing strongly through the gap between them, driving waves from out in the Hauraki Gulf all the way to the bank I was standing on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.