pinocchio-bergine

I consider this to be a very traumatic - sinister even - food item. When I look at this image I’m instantly put in mind of a childhood incident.  When I was about 7 years old, my parents to me to the cinema to see Walt Disney’s Pinocchio.  It terrified me.  Which was about par for old Walt; Bambi, Dumbo - all about parent/child separation.  I’ve never got over it.  Anniemay suggests a weekend of aversion therapy where I watch a set of Walt Disney videos over and over until I’m cured.  I prefer to cut it up.  With a very big knife.

Technically this is a fruit, related to the Deadly Nightshade, but it tries to fool us into thinking it’s a vegetable.  It’s duplicity is easily tested.

Me; “are you a fruit?”

Pinocchio-bergine; “no way, Jose.  I’m a lovely vegetable.”

And then it grew a nose.

I rest my case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.