Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

St Fagans Welsh Folk Museum

I was out of the house at 9.30am on a call out which finished in Cardiff. Not far away is The Welsh Folk Museum, St Fagans, which is a great place for photography, interesting and a good walk. Best of all it's free - except for the car parking. I get around this by using the rear entrance opposite The Plymouth Arms Hotel which goes directly into the main house.

I had a walk around the house part. It was very quiet, but no doubt it'll change over the bank holiday period this weekend.

My favourite picture for the day is this black and white of the house and lawns. It's the third mono in a row which is highly unusual for me as I'm a bit of a colour addict. I must be going through a change - going through my black period - I hope it's not depression.

No longer had I got back to the car than I had another call, before getting home early this afternoon to do a couple of jobs Mrs B B wanted done.

Early this evening I was just about to post up the blip when I had another call out. The busiest day for a while. I'm not complaining - the money is always handy!

The folk museum consists of more than forty re-erected buildings from various locations in Wales, and is set in the grounds of St Fagans House an Elizabethan manor house. In 2011 Which?  magazine named the museum the United Kingdom's favorite visitor attraction.

The Manor house dates from 1586. Sir Edward Lewis of The Van, Caerphilly, bought the house in 1616 and the interior dates partly from then and partly from after 1850, when it became the summer residence of Robert Windsor-Clive 1st Earl of Plymouth and his family.

In 1947 they gave it and the grounds to The National Museum of Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.