Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Llandegfedd Reservoir

After sorting out the wife's salad box I drove to my friends house for some music tuition. Tom is somewhat of a master on the guitar and Ukulele. He was an undertaker before joining the police and becoming a police dog handler trainer, wait for it - finding dead bodies! I kid you not. He's retired and doesn't play the guitar much now due to being hit off his pedal cycle and breaking both wrists. He doesn't cycle either and I bought the bike off him.

After a couple of hours practice I headed for Argos where I collected my reservation; it's the wife's birthday present. Her birthday isn't until next month but she wants it early so she can set it up for when we go away next month. Girls and their toys - worse than us boys!

Not long after getting home, I was called out and ended up in Pontypool. It was an area I worked for a couple of years and I used to love a drive around Llandegfedd Reservoir. I've seen some lovely sunrises and sunsets there.

The blip photo is of a couple of men fishing. I like the shadows in the water of the boats. It was all very relaxed. 

It was opened by Newport Corporation in May 1965. The reservoir itself covers an area of 434 acres and is managed by Welsh Water leisure and conservation company – Hamdden. There are a lot of activities going on and there is a newly opened leisure facility which houses a cafe overlooking the massive reservoir. Ideal to go and enjoy a coffee or a walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.