The first big red poppy

Our front garden has escaped and is becoming a wild zone, unfortunately. I've planted several plants in the beds there over the years but the weeds seem to be more successful, especially with my lack of attention to weeding.

But the poppy plant, which I'd dug up as small self-seeded plants from my parents garden, have really enjoyed this site and are thriving.  The first of the poppy flowers to open is always a notable occasion, and it happened today., and this one is about six inches in diameter.  I managed to nip out from the kitchen with a couple of minutes to spare for a blip with the evening sun setting into the west.  The wind was blustery so it was hard to catch a sharp picture and the petals were covering up the wonderful seed pod at its heart which appears to me as a beautiful mandala.In a few weeks there will be lots of  rather bedraggled pods fully exposed as they prepare to spread even more fine seeds to fill our garden up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.