CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An avenue of ewe trees in Painswick churchyard

I felt a bit stir crazy at home so despite the inclement conditions I drove to a garden centre between Gloucester and Cheltenham looking for morning glory plants. Sadly they didn't have any, possibly because the spring has been a bit cold this year.

On my way back I drove south on the A46 which winds through Painswick where this main road is reduced to a single lane through the centre of the old Cotswold wool town.  The road becomes two lanes again beside Painswick church and I pulled in when I saw a rare empty space to park in.

The rain was falling quite hard again by this time, so I donned my hooded waterproofs and hoped my reputedly semi-waterproof camera would not leak.  I only walked about twenty yards to the edge of the churchyard where this avenue crosses towards the houses on the lower slope. I stood in the relative shelter of the first pair of ewe trees, which are of great renown in this churchyard.  People come from far and wide to admire them. I must admit that I didn't stay there very long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.