One click at a time

By KeithKnight

June Challenge - Sky - Marsworth Reservoir

Following the Jubilee Beacon lighting on Dunstable Downs I went over to Marsworth Reservoir (it supplies water for the Grand Union Canal) to have my second attempt at startrails. My first attempt was at Easter on Dunstable Downs, I was slightly hampered there by the number of 'courting couples in cars' and also a visit by the police to check on them.

This time I went a little further afield to Marsworth near Tring. This was a much more isolated spot, but again an evening with clear(ish) skies, when I didn't have to get up for work the following day also coincided with a full moon :(. Although I hardly saw anybody else there, light pollution from Aylesbury was very evident. Next time I may go to the other side of the reservoir, but that would have been pointing straight at the moon, and also the flight path for Luton Airport.

This is 30 shots, each 30 seconds long, so a total of 15 minutes, put together in a free bit of software. This is the best of 3 that I did, although the others were longer, there was more cloud around so they were not as effective.

Try looking at it large.

If this had been a normal working day I would have been just down the road from BSkyB, so my blip would have been very different - probably of the Gillette Building at Gillette Corner, which James Murdoch wanted to buy so he could get them renamed as the Sky Building at Sky Corner. As it is a listed building he wouldn't have been allowed to do that so he didn't buy the building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.