Repairs

This is my old Leatherman Wave, which I have had for some time and always carry about with me.  In theory it carries a lifetime guarantee, but it is hard to find how to apply this, especially for a minor problem.  The plier mechanism has loosened relative to the handles, so that whilst the pliers still grip, if you open up the handles, the jaws do not open, but remain closed.  Because of my difficulties in getting it repaired, I decided to do it myself.  I had decided to manufacture two tools to fit the five point spline screw heads, but then wondered if I could grip the round discs of the heads, sufficiently tightly to take the tool apart, without making a tool.  This worked very well and was much easier than I expected, so I bent the spring behind the plier jaw ends, to provide more tension and this worked.  Today’s blip is the repaired tool, together with its case.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.