Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Forster's Tern at Tulelake NWR

What a day of birding at Tulelake National Wildlife Refuge in Northern California, just across the border from Klamath Falls.  My sister joined us yesterday, but we were on our own today, and had so much fun.  There were many first time birds for me, including these graceful forester's terns which would hang in the blowing wind right above me while I was able to snap their picture!  We also saw Caspian Terns, another first.  One of my other favorite birds of the day was the White-faced Ibis, which is the most beautiful shade of dark chestnut with a bronze metalic glossy green, which is most striking.  I caught it gliding among the reeds in the wetlands several times.

Take some time to view my flickr set, as I think you will enjoy the array of birds seen in just one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.