Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Soft Landing

This is Zippy.
Today I am sure.   I messed up yesterday.  That definitely wasn't  Zippy.  (I edited the blip.)

I did three hummingbird patch surveys for the Audubon Society this morning, each an hour long.  I was waiting for a phone call from Dell. I finally decided to read my  email and saw that it wasn't coming today.  At least I was doing something constructive with my time while I waited.

Anyone (in North America) can do patch surveys or record single sightings for them.  There's an app called Hummingbirds at Home that you can put on your mobile devices.  You can also get it on your computers.  As a result of the participation of everyday people, the Audubon Society's scientists are able to locate and track the number, location and migratory patterns of each species. 

It's vital research on the effect global warming is having on the lives of these small creatures.  So if you regularly see hummingbirds, put the app on your phone or tablet  or bookmark it on your computer.  You don't have to do patch surveys and sit and collect data for an hour.  You can simply record your single sightings wherever you are and whenever you want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.