Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

No masterpieces tonight

I think we are living in Nev-oregon! Here a little rain . . . There a little rain . . . Everywhere a little rain! I am really not complaining. We need the water desperately. But this far from typical conditions and takes some getting used to. And it seems to have affected my photographic vision. I took my camera with me all day, and did not take one photo.

So, as uninspiring as it is, here is my journal and pen. I have actually been writing some reviews on fountain pen inks tonight. To do this, I loaded several of my fountain pens - all with different nibs or writing capabilities - with the ink I am reviewing and test by writing on different quality papers, looking at the shading of the ink, the drying time and whether it is water soluble or permanent. Then I also try to accurately describe the color of the ink. Some inks will be labelled "blue", but I try to describe what kind of blue such as "a well saturated blue with undertones of violet without tending towards grey, and hints of clear gold" - or something like that.

I post my reviews on a couple of different websites for other fountain pen aficionados. There are a dozen or so good ink manufacturers and between them they make hundreds of colors. The current price for a bottle of ink is about the same as it is for a bottle of wine, so fountain pen lovers want to make sure they will like the color before they buy. It is really nice to share the knowledge and opinions with others.

My pen is sitting on my journal or actually the cover to my journal. Several years ago J and I were browsing through one of those very expensive "western" leather shops. I don't remember where we were - it might have been in Aspen or Jackson Hole. Anyway, J saw this leather planner cover and bought it for a ridiculously high price because he thought I might like it. It has never really been my style, but I treasure it because of his generosity. Have I ever told you that I am married to the most wonderful man in the world?

Yes, I know I am rattling on.

Have a great weekend! For those in the states, have a great Memorial Day weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.