India-Bound

Not me---our wonderful Iyengar Gentle Yoga II instructor, DW, pictured above, who will be off to India very soon! She will be spending a month at the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute (RIMYI) in Pune, where Iyengar Yoga teachers from around the world come to practice and hone their skills.

I've taken Iyengar Gentle Yoga classes for about a decade, and they've made a huge difference to me. I'm not a physically adept person---if I had to draw myself, there would be a head, arms, and hands as the dominant features---but Iyengar Yoga appeals to me, and has helped me through a series of problems with back, hips, and legs over the years, as well as enabling me to improve my flexibility and balance.

DW is an extraordinary teacher, conveying through her calm, thoughtful directions just what we need to know to progress in the modified poses we do in our Friday class at Yoga Northwest. DW is also a blipper, and you can follow her India preparation and travels starting here.

I'm looking forward to her Blipfoto journal, and also to the new insights she'll share with us on her return!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.