Thank You!

That's what this male Rufous Hummingbird seems to be saying to me, after enjoying an add-on to the hummer "menu" at our house. The nectar of this "Hot Lips" salvia evidently passed muster, as seen in the extra photo. 

This is also a "thank you" to my daughter M, who gave me the gift of a boxing fitness class at Cappy's Boxing Gym in Seattle, which I took with her yesterday. She's been a student at Cappy's for nearly two years, and now I know firsthand why she likes it so much. 

Cappy's is a family-friendly place, with coaches who are outstanding in their communication skills and ability to modify the exercises for a wide range of ages, sizes, and fitness levels. I'm also impressed by their many community life skills workshops and involvement with young people in the neighborhood around Cappy's, which is located in one of Seattle's less prosperous areas.

It was fascinating to have my hands wrapped and then don boxing gloves; to learn the hook, jab, and straight punches; to try remember the patterns and coordinate both hands and feet; and to be M's partner in several of the exercises, as well as to watch her sparring afterward.

Our day together also included an outstanding vegan Thai meal in a restaurant near her apartment, and plenty of time for good conversation. She's a whiz at using Seattle's public transportation, and both met me at my BoltBus in the morning and accompanied me there in late afternoon so I'd be on time for the 6 p.m. bus back to Bellingham.

All in all, a day I'll long remember!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.