Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Stars Over The Usk

The wife got home from work about 10.20pm and announced that it was a lovely clear night for stars. Was I going out? I'm proud to announce she's passed her training with distinction.

I looked at the local tide tables and saw that high tide was about 11.40pm. For a while I've fancied getting a star scene over the River Usk at Caerleon. It's a village about 20 minutes drive away that has a fabulous history especially of the Roman period. It's quite quaint in places and I will go back for more night time photography.

The challenge with star shooting in towns is the light is a nuisance. The darker the better and easier it is. Caerleon is well lit and getting the stars without too much 'light pollution' was a challenge!

The blip picture is of houses next to the River Usk that have lovely reflections on the water with hills behind them to show off the stars.

For those interested the settings on my Sony A7s with 21mm F2.8 lens was:   Aperture at F3.5,  ISO 3,200   2 seconds exposure with Exposure Bias -1    Tripod Mounted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.