*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

144/365: Determined

I've read somewhere recently that it's easy to play a ukulele, but very difficult to play one well. It's so true. 

Anyone can pick up a ukulele and I can guarantee within an hour they'll probably be able to strum along to an Olly Murs song... but the ukulele is a proper instrument which can be made to sound beautiful (i.e. by not playing anything by Olly Murs*!)

I don't want just to be able to play a uke, I want to play one well. 

This week I've started learning my first classical piece - Pachelbel's Canon - because I think it's a beautiful piece of music and seems to work so well on the ukulele. Plus you can easy slip into All Together Now by The Farm when it all gets too difficult and frustrating! And secondly, Stairway to Heaven by Led Zep, which I'm progressing faster with because I just think it's so ace to play.

I'm also still cracking on with my George Formby. Moved on from the 1 star difficulty solos to the 2 star. Next up will be my first 3 star: Leaning on a Lamp-post :)

My aim is to be able to play this:

Withnail's Theme on ukulele

Magical!

Onwards and upwards.

* Apologies to any Olly Murs fans on Blip! No offence intended ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.