sharing.......

A quick trip to my local Southwater woods this morning, and a lovely long meander down the rides stuffed to bursting with wild flowers and insects. I saw several butterflies, including a late season male orange tip! There were several Speckled woods, but most lepidoptera on the wing were day flying moths and not butterflies.
I was quite lucky here, as i managed to get two species in one go! a male longhorn moth ( I am not sure of the species) and a small yellow underwing.
The Small Yellow Underwing Panemeria tenebrata, is a tiny (wingspan 19 - 22mm) day-flying moth which flies in sunny weather in meadows, grassy downland and open areas. It is widely distributed, but local and flies between May and June.
I couldn't resist adding a shot of another day flying species the Speckled Yellow moth Pseudopanthera macularia mating on a blade of grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.