Bird's nest orchid

I went out with my orchid hunting friends today for a ramble along the North downs to look for Bird's nest orchids Neottia nidus-avis, and we found absolutely loads of them and loads of white helleborines too!
Leafless and without chlorophyll the Bird's nest orchid is unable to photosynthesise and gain energy from the sun, Instead it grows as a parasite on the roots of various trees, using them to gain energy.
The flowers are a strange fudge brown colour, but in macro standard orchid shape with a hood and a lip. They give off a strange scent which initially smells a bit sweet like honey, but rapidly becomes something just not quite nice. I have blipped a close up of the interesting flowers, and included a shot of the whole plant and a White helleborine in my extras.
On another note I really could have kicked myself, I somehow managed to put the camera on 1600 ISO, so every single shot from today was flipping grainy!!! I won't do that again in a hurry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.