SURVIVAL SUNDAY ....................

NEWCASTLE UNITED are SAFE

Big day of football.  Newcastle United had to fight for survival in the Premier league.  50,000 or more Geordies willing them to win.  Me included.  Newcastle played much better than they have recently.  Mind you that wasn't too difficult as they have been terrible for some months.

If Newcastle won the match  they were safe from relegation.  Their fate was in their own hands and they did fight for a win.  

At half time I had a mini blipmeet with the lovely Shaaamie.  At that point the score was 0 - 0 so we were both a bit nervous of the outcome.

Final Score   Newcastle 2 - West Ham  0

The second goal was scored by my favourite player Jonás Gutiérrez.  He was so pleased to score.  I was so proud of him.  He has beaten cancer and got back to fitness and earned his place in the team.  I shed a few tears I can tell you when I saw his goal go in.  My blip shot shows him being interviewed at the end of the match.  Well done Jonas.  Well done Newcastle. 

The team usually parade around the pitch at the end of the final game of the season - but not today.  I guess with Newcastle having such a poor season overall it wasn't fitting for them show off.

Things need to happen before next season to get Newcastle back to being a good club.  The owner needs to spend money on new players and a new manager needs to be appointed.  But at least we will still be playing in the Premiership.

It was an amazing feeling walking away from the ground knowing that come August I will be back in my seat at St James Park and watching Premiership football again.  

Being Sunday the shops were now closed so I came straight home.

Becky rang me at 9pm.  She was with Mike at Euston Station waiting to get on the sleeper train to Glasgow.  They are staying there for a couple of days then hiring a car and driving to Loch Lomond to stay in a cottage for a few days.  Then they will move on to Edinburgh.  They are both running The Edinburgh Half Marathon next Sunday.  Then they will get the train back to London.

Steps today - 8,620

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.