Texann Times

By Texann

Blue is the Colour

“Blue is the colour, football is the game
We're all together, and winning is our aim
So cheer us on through the sun and rain
'Cause Chelsea, Chelsea is our name.”
Chelsea FC Anthem Song

(OK, so these flowers (vitex agnus-castus) are probably a bit more purple than blue, but they were the closest thing I could find in the garden today.  And this has helped to encourage me away from my Green Period!)

Lee was a huge fan of Chelsea Football Club dating back to when he was a really wee boy and John Dempsey used to kick a ball around with him in the garden that Lee’s mum’s nan shared with one of John’s relatives (at least, that’s my memory of the story).   Lee cheered Chelsea on through many years of ‘rain’ until this last decade or so when the sun started to shine on them and they began to win things.  Today, the end of the season, they were crowned Premier League Champions 2014-15.  Lee would have been a very happy bunny, which makes me happy.  I was meant to be playing tennis this morning but what with the torrential rain and tornado warning we had at 7:00 am, I decided that staying in to watch the football and trophy presentation would probably be a much more enjoyable activity.  It was!  Congratulations and thanks, Chelsea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.