Texann Times

By Texann

Red, White & Blue are the Colours

Apparently my blip title yesterday wasn't quite accurate...

As in the UK, today is a public holiday in America, but the reason for it here is that it’s Memorial Day.   This is a day for remembering the people who have died while serving in the country's armed forces.   On days like this in particular, the American flag is flown outside people’s houses.  Many neighbourhoods have flags lining the streets.  I think it’s a wonderful gesture and find it really quite dramatic and moving.  Because of a slight mix-up, our neighbourhood was going to be flagless this year until one of our neighbours stepped up and supplied enough for everyone and got some of the children to place them outside people’s homes.  It was so very generous and thoughtful of them and I wanted to blip the one they gave me as way of saying thank you. 

I popped out to the tennis club this afternoon as many of our friends were gathering there to play and eat, so it was a good time for me to catch up with them.  The rest of my day was just relaxing. 

So, in keeping with this day, I'd like to express my gratitude to all the men and women, the world over, who have lost their lives, over the last decades, fighting for our freedom.  Thank you also to their families who have lost so much.  We’ll never be able to thank you enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.