Texann Times

By Texann

This Is How We Do It

Lee’s and my 20th wedding anniversary.  (Having to back blip it the next day.) 

It was obviously an emotional day for me but I decided to throw myself, as much as possible, into a day of celebration and many of our friends kindly helped and joined in.  I had been going to play tennis for fun in the morning but Mother Nature decided to punish Houston overnight for something and flooded large areas of the city.  It was a really bad day for many people in Texas, some getting as much as 12 inches of rain in less than 24 hours.  Fortunately for those in my area, the problems were reasonably minor (although it doesn’t seem to have stopped yet).   Selfishly, getting back to my day… I had a lovely long, relaxing, fun lunch with some of my tennis friends.  When I got home, several of my neighbours brought me gifts (a cake, flowers, plants) – I was really touched.  In the evening, a group of my female neighbours took me out for a distinctly raucous boisterous unruly irreverent entertaining dinner.  I'm hoping I can still go back to that restaurant! Didn’t get to bed until the wee hours.  Have I mentioned how much I love all our friends... in the last hour or two? 

Having received several beautiful flowering gifts, I thought I’d gratefully blip some.  In the order in which they were received, today's is a Phalaenopsis Blume, which the Botanists among you will tell us is also known as the Moth Orchid (thank you, Rainey).

Since we got married in Troon in Scotland but lived in Houston at the time, I thought I'd see what was number one in each country's chart twenty years ago today.  I'm not sure what this says about the two countries but here's the difference:
UK: Robson & Jerome - Unchained Melody
USA: Montell Jordan - This Is How We Do It

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.