A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Nest

Birdfair this weekend which has been re-branded Scotland's Big Nature Festival which is more descriptive but doesn't quite roll off the tongue in the same way!

I was volunteering again this weekend and did a stint as a runner which means doing anything and this morning meant being on the entrance desk - boy was it busy - a good sign! In the afternoon I marshalled in the car park.

In between I went to a nest recording workshop. This was followed by a nest walk which was amazing. I was stunned at how close to busy paths that birds will nest. Put it this way, when signs go up in spring asking people to stick to paths because of nesting birds, they REALLY mean it - that patch of flowers right at the side might have a bird nesting under it! We saw nests at all different stages, from a nest that had been completely destroyed by some predator, one with tiny perfect little eggs in, ones with chicks and this one which I grabbed a photo of as it had been predated and was abandoned.

Really glad I went to this and it was well attended which was good as the presenters were up against Bill Oddie in the next tent..

Then home to the excitement of Eurovision. It all seemed a bit worthy this year with lots of ballads about peace and so on and not many puppets or loveable grannies. Still, I did like most of the songs with Israel and Serbia being my favourites I think but I did also really like the winner, Sweden. The UK got an undeservedly low score I thought but maybe it looked a bit like  a comedy entry compared with the others?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.