A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Nature festival again today. I went to talks and workshops today so I didn't get much of a chance to go round stalls and so on but I did manage to pick up a book about eggs and one about nest finding which is from the 1950's but the man told me it was the best book on the subject. Lucky find then!

I managed to go to the Raptor ID workshop which I missed last year but which was really useful. I also went to one about painting waders in watercolour, not something I am quite brave enough to try myself but really interesting all the same. Then I went to see Bill Oddie who was here again today. I even managed to get a seat which was pretty lucky. He told some funny stories and anecdotes, including one about some elderly pheasant eggs and the contents thereof which I think will stick in my mind for a very long time!

Then it was back to the volunteer tent to take over from some people to give them breaks and then help with the clearing up when the event closed. Phew!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.