"The World Below the Window"

The geraniums I left last night on the windowsill,
To the best of my knowledge now, are out there still,
And will be there as long as I think they will.

And will be there as long as I think that I
Can throw the window open on the sky,
A touch of geranium pink in the tail of my eye;

As long as I think I see, past leaves green-growing,
Barges moving down a river, water flowing,
Fulfillment in the thought of thought outgoing,

Fulfillment in the sight of sight replying,
Of sound in the sound of small birds southward flying,
In life life-giving, and in death undying.


Written in 1957 by William Jay Smith (born 1918)



I arrived at Mum's in the early afternoon, in time to see my sister Susan for a while before she drove home.  This is the first Sunday I've missed at Church for many months, and Susan attended with Mum instead this time.  She brought over lots of geraniums to put in the hanging baskets and containers in the garden at Tiptree, and I took my blipfoto of one of the flowers after the rain which fell in the afternoon.  The garden's looking lovely now - Mum and I are going to get some more plants to put in the remainder of the empty pots, and the climbing rose that we planted a few weeks ago in memory of Dad has five buds on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.