Calling

Following a long MDT meeting this morning I went for a walk with the camera. From the North Shore Hospital to the edge of Lake Pupuke. Standing on a rock just out from the bank was a young kawau paka (or little pied shag). I had only just framed the photo, when it opened its mouth and called. 

I fully expected it to depart, but it didn't and got a few other shots as well. Cropped out the extraneous bits, and adjusted things a little (reduced shadow). I then asked the opinion of Young L. Showed him the four photos I'd kept of the kawau paka, plus a sunset shot. He chose this. 

Before asking Mr H his opinion, I asked Young L why he chose this one. "Because it looks like the Statue of Liberty" was the answer.

Gave me the best laugh I've had in days. Mr H looked and agreed. So I couldn't choose any other.

I needed the laugh after having dealt with the mail. I had to register the car before the end of the month, and did so last week. Online, as they encourage you to do. Informed by the site that the licence label would be posted. Still not here by today. I checked at the office, in case they'd sent it there, even though I don't use the street address, but the Post Office Box. Not there either, so I was really annoyed. 

Then, when I got home I opened the lovely letter from the IRD. I am not surprised that they have charged interest and penalties for being late in paying PAYE, but the escalation of penalties is so marked and so rapid. Even more grumpiness.

So before Young L's comment about this photo, I was Mr Grumpy. Not any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.