Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

YAAAAAYYY!!!!!!

You are looking at the last lamb on my farm!!!! Yay!!! It’s a pure Shetland boy lamb and soooo tiny! His mum is a first time lamber and isn’t greatly keen on her lamb. I have put them in a smaller pen and am going in regularly as when I’m in the pen the ewe will stand and let her lamb have a drink. She will hopefully grow to love her baby. Her milk is a little slow in dropping so I have given him a wee top up this afternoon to keep him going. In the pic he is standing in a bucket.

 

On the afternoon dog walk I noticed one of my ewe and lambs out heading for the main road. Nipped home and grabbed pick up and Breagh, only just got to her in time and that’s with rallying down the track. I got out initially and she was a little resistant to move so popped Breagh out and behind her. I reversed pick up Breagh followed ewe and we got them home. This was all because our farm gate had not be snecked properly! That’s 89 lambs from 101 ewes. 8 of the ewes were yelled, a couple from each tup. This is not too bad a percentage for a hill farm. When you bear in mind my ewes are meant to have singles not triplets! It has not been the best spring and its showing with my ewes. The grass has been slow due to the colder weather.

 

Feeling the effects from yesterday today especially the lack of fluid as I’m feeling hungover with being do dehydrated today. Got my Klean Kanteen beside me at all times constantly drinking to try to catch up.

 

10c 15mph SW cold wind, sunshine and showers. Overcast most of the day.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.