Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Home, lads, home

The title of this blip is because I've had a song on the brain all day.  It's about a soldier in the trenches hearing the horses conscripted to pull the guns to the front as he thinks about the horses working on a Hampshire farm when he was a lad.  Quite a famous poem turned into a fabulous ballad by Sarah Morgan.  Here it's performed by Belshazzar's Feast at the Warwick Folk Festival (possibly best listened to in the background without the jumpy video!!)

And there I was in the water meadows this evening amongst the cow parsley and these bullocks were following me along the stream as though I was leading them home.  They are very amusing sociable creatures, though they can be rough like teenage boys.  Such a beautiful evening, almost a bit magical.  Or perhaps it just shows I need to get out more :-/

Enjoy your Tuesday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.