Babysitting

As a result of yesterday's disciplinary meeting with one of our staff members, he is not allowed to operate any machinery or drive any vehicles until he produces a clean Drug and Alcohol Screen. This chap turned up for work intoxicated we normally use a word that starts with the letter P. So today I have been Babysitting which makes my job more difficult because I can't leave him on a job or send him away to get gear because he is not allowed to drive. However I have not chastised him I have worked with him and not really treated him any differently as I believe as a Health and Safety Rep and his Union Delegate I have to take his word that he will take steps which now he has be contracted into through the Company's Rehabilitation Policy; that he will change no matter how much I disbelieve anything he says. I also feel if I can lead him to make a change and damn well grow up he may even make a positive change in his life, I won't hold my breath. Yesterday I said he was very very very lucky and he is as the rest of us are the ones that are being punished because we have to carry him. Pissed off you better believe I am. Maybe also this may be another test of responsibility for me from management to see how I cope in this situation leading up to the possibility of a Supervisor's role spoken to me about a couple of months ago when I was given the Smoke testing Contract to self manage. On a better note I did a walk with Mark tonight and my Hamstring injury is settling down well no Pain : ) ( Mark " Hows the leg Mario any pain" Mario  " No pain Yet" Mark " NO!!!! no pain ever")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.