DWBham

By DWBham

Arrived in Dubai

Since it's night (already!), I'm not getting much light through all the skylights in the Dubai airport. It's oddly subdued, not what I expected. Here's a picture that lets me know what part of the world I'm in, though the Starbucks and Costa coffee chains could have me anywhere. Security seems a little lax. I saw a suitcase sitting on a chair far from any possible owner, and in going through security, when I asked if I had to take off my shoes, the woman looked down at them and said, "Just try it."

I sat next to a kind Indian grandma on the flight. I helped her get her seatbelt fastened several times and she insisted I lie down across our three seats when she and her husband were both up using the bathroom. I stuck my legs up in the air for a few minutes of ... "legs in the air" pose. The plane was packed and we were surrounded by young families, but it was surprisingly quiet and calm.

Next stop: Mumbai, then the drive to Pune. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.