An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Spooky Fronds...

Physio was here for two hours last night, putting me through my paces and I expected to wake up this morning, feeling a bit achey, but to my surprise, I felt fine.   I was very good and did my first lot of physio exercises before going downstairs.

David was working from home this morning but had the afternoon off so suggested we go across to the golf club for lunch.  Well, he didn't have to ask twice.

Had a lovely lunch there having proper conversation.  Does that sound daft?  Proper conversation?  It's just usually the majority of our communications are around typical everyday stuff like what's for tea, what are the plans for the weekend, what did Alan do today kind of thing, whereas over lunch we discussed lots of interesting things interesting to us, probably mind numbing to anyone else and it was nice  :-)

Back in time for a visit from Alan's dietician to discuss our concerns about his nutrition (or general lack of) and the impact it has on his general health as well as his Ulcerative Colitis, and to get information on gastrostomy feeding as a means of back up.

We had a full and frank discussion with her about Alan's ability (or lack of) to eat the amount of food his body actually needs on a daily basis and his refusal to eat for other people and how that impacts on his (and our) ability to be independent of each other for longer periods of time.  She was extremely knowledgeable and we found the discussion very helpful.   We will discuss this further at Alan's next appointment with the Gastroenterologist next week, but we go into that meeting knowing that should we decide to go down this route, we have the full support of the dietician.

Had hoped to have tea then do more of my physio exercises but my knee is  playing up.  I was afraid this would happen and now I am torn between being keen to exercise but worrying that I am heading for another arthritic flare up of my knee.  Think I might rest it tonight and see how it is tomorrow.  I can't be out of commission tomorrow as an upper molar filling has crumbled and I've managed to get an emergency appointment at the dentist and it's an hours drive away.

One step forward, two back.  Literally!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.