A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

The Happiest Hobo

Despite us coming the closest we have come so far to completely breaking our first-born today has been a good day.  Carl found a lovely walk near Chew Lake that went up a small hill, through these lovely bluebell fields and afforded beautiful views of both the lake and the Mendip Hills.  All in glorious sunshine. And with yet more big fields for Albi to run her little heart out. And we even had a name check on local radio when we correctly answered their name the location quiz.  

The blackspot in the middle was that the walk was way too much for the boy and he really struggled to make it around.  He did though. And it was good for us all to be out together, with this gorgeous creature.  It is hard to describe how much she adds to our lives. Despite having grown up with a dog I really didn't realise how great having one would be.  

Take-away fish and chips from the Lake and home for a very chilled out afternoon.  I might even finish a second book. 

I realised that I have put a lot on this holiday in terms of us needing it as a family and frankly it hasn't really been all that I hoped it would be. So it is a lesson for me to appreciate the good, even if it isn't all great, and to be with how things are, rather than how I hope they would be. As an eternal optimist this is a challenge for me but ultimately probably good for my mental health.  I'm not sure I'm fully articulating what I mean so please ignore if that doesn't really make sense.  Well feel free to ignore my ramblings anyway! I'm just recording them for future reference. 

Anyway, this picture was voted today's blip unanimously.  And it did give me the chance to teach everyone the Bluebell song, imparted to me by my Grandpa*. 

Lesley x

*Bluebells are bluebells
Bluebells are blue
Bluebells are bluebells
Because bluebells are blue

There's a whitebells verse too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.