Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Kymin Walk

It's Mrs BB last day off before she restarts the work cycle. There's redundancies going in her work-place and I think she's going to put in for it. I keep telling her there's more to life than working. We both like walking (it's healthy and free) but best of all it's relaxing and you get to see the wonderful countryside.

She chose the walk today which starts at Monmouth Rowing Club on the River Wye and is a steep climb for about a mile to The Kymin. It was built in 1794 on behalf of the Duke of Beaufort and 8 members of parliament who formed The Kymin Club, to entertain. It's a round two storey house that is now a listed building. It has outstanding views and on a clear day it is said you can see nine counties.

I did take a nice black and white photo of it, but another I took during the day has grabbed me, and that's the one I've posted. I liked the colours of the signpost and Mrs BB racing ahead.  This is a couple of hundred metres from the Kymin Summit.

We then followed the Offas Dyke path to The Gloucester border before heading back along the Wye Valley into Monmouth.

We had some refreshments - boycotting Wetherspoons after they chucked us out for taking the dogs into the rear garden a few weeks ago! The gift shop owner where we had tea/coffee was really friendly and said she welcomed well behaved dogs!

A walk around Monmouth town afterwards saw me exchange an M&S voucher for £25 (from my car insurance renewal deal) for a six bottles of reduced wine, two reduced pizzas, and packets of hand cooked crisps on a deal. I love a bargain.

If Mrs BB takes the redundancy we'll be searching out the bargains even more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.