The Way I See Things

By JDO

Emergency sky blip

This is number three in my series of Wednesday evening, post-choir, "I'll just have to hope there's an interesting sky on the drive home" blips.

The village is called Aston-sub-Edge - cunningly named for the fact that it's the eastern one of a pair of villages at the bottom of the Cotswold Edge (the other is called - yes, I thought you'd be ahead of me here - Weston-sub-Edge). Aston-sub-Edge is not to be confused with Ashton-under-Hill, a few miles down the road, which sits at the base of Bredon Hill. There isn't a Weston-under-Hill, though there is a Bredons Norton.

I hope you're taking notes, because I'll be setting a test on Friday.

Where was I? Oh yes - Aston-sub-Edge is a very pretty little Cotswold village, apparently almost untouched by the modern world except for the fact that one of the main roads to Chipping Campden (or from, in this case) runs smack through the middle of it. The quality of some of the properties is enough to make you weep with envy - the half-timbered building in this shot is the farmhouse of a working farm, and if you think that looks nice, you should just see their neighbours' house. Aside from the traffic that hurtles down the Edge and largely fails to slow down at the 30mph zone, it's a pretty idyllic place.

I took one other shot from slightly higher up the village, which I'll put in as an extra - the electricity cable rather spoils it, but the sky is better. I was using the 10-18 lens in the hope of getting something I could tag for Wide Angle Wednesday, but Chantler63 has chosen Opposites as her theme today and I can't really spin this to fit, so I'm afraid I've failed at that challenge again - maybe I'll do better next week!

Before I go, I must say a huge thank you to everyone who has viewed and been nice about Monday's shot - it's currently on page 2 of the Populars, and I haven't been there for a while so I'm delighted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.