Kafkaesque

For reasons that need not concern us here, I have, for some time now, been attempting to remortgage my house. This is involving changing my mortgage provider and this has proved to be a frustrating and very expensive process, not least because my existing provider has notified the credit agencies that I have repeatedly made my mortgage payments late.

This, as it happens, is not the case. However, the mortgage company's internal process, which takes three to five days to move the money to the mortgage account, has resulted in it appearing that my payments have been late.

Now, the company concerned has not only been happy to admit that this is where the fault arises, they've put it into a letter for me. A nice, 'crystal English' letter that I thought would solve all my problems. (It effectively says "Mr Pearson paid his mortgage on time and it only appears otherwise because of how our systems operate".) 

But this, sadly, is not the case. I have spent an appalling amount of time and money trying to sort this out as no one is really bothered about the situation except me as I ping-pong between the credit reference agency and the mortgage company.

Happily, the end is in sight and today's photo sums up how I feel; a little gap that I can slip through and come out of the other side of this Kafkaesque situation. But I am acutely aware that I am fortunate enough to have both the time and the money to sort this out. I hate to think of the people for whom there is no gap in the wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.