Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Successful rain dodging...

The weather forecast said sunshine and showers, but it was sunny all morning before we left the house, so I ignored the forecast - obviously wrong - and gaily set off for the day in my gilet (not just my gilet, of course!).

By the time we got to town on the bus, the sky was ominously black. Was it set in for hours? Should I just cross the road and get the next bus home? No, I carried on, as I could see blue skies over Leith, where I was heading.

Torrential rain for the five minutes I was on the bus, but by the time I got to Canonmills, it was sunny again.

Archie is so good in buses. Normally.

Today he happened to look around, saw the big blue painted wheelchair person on the bus window opposite - and it was following us!!! So he started to bark at it. Weird. He was very agitated, and there was nothing else he could have been barking at.

We walked along the Water of Leith, a good two mile stroll. We met lots of dogs, and Archie discovered some new doggie fun - rubbing his face in delicious duck poo! NOT nice, Archie.

We strolled around the harbour and popped into the wee dog friendly deli. Cake and coffee (for me) and a couple of takeaway salads for tea.

The bus back through town took forever, and Archie was so patient. It was dead slow and stop, due to all the digging up of roads around town. So I decided he deserved another run back through the Meadows instead of saving my legs by getting another bus.

We had to shelter from another five minute deluge, but then walked home, with a bonus run around for Arch with a lovely big daft collie.

We left the house at 9:30. Home at 2:30. It was a loooong day. He's snoozing beside me as we speak. I'm watching Andy Murray's match, but may not see the end of it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.