Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

The Devil and The Angel - Malcolm Middleton

An enormously busy day today and I'm glad to finally be home. Was good to meet Craig though.

Anyway I'm too knackered to type much so I'll just give you the lyrics to this self deprecating gem from former Arab Strap member Malcolm Middleton who has graced my blip before.


Last night
when I was sleeping
a devil came to me.
She said "Malcolm... Malcolm...
your soul belongs to me.

And you'll never amount to anything,
you'll never achieve anything,
You'll never be good at anything...
and your songs are shite."

This morning
I woke up sweating
coz i knew that she was right.
I'm dishonest
and dirty,
I just don't have a life.

And I'll never amount to anything,
I'll never achieve anything,
I'll never be good at anything...
and my songs are shite.

Last night
when I was sleeping
an angel came to me.
She said "Malcky... Malcky...
salvation lies with me.

Because you can amount to something,
you can achieve anything,
You can be good at something...
and your songs are alright"

This morning
I woke up shaking
coz I knew I had to choose a path.
It's the devil
or the angel,
there's only one way for me.

Coz I'll never amount to anything,
I'll never achieve anything,
I'll never be good at anything
and I'll never amount to anything.
I'll never achieve anything,
I'll never be good at anything...
And my songs are pish.


This is another one that I couldn't actually find, but I found something off his new album instead. One of the things I love about his music (and quite a lot of the music I listen to, Joy Division or the Smiths being other examples) is that the lyrics are pretty grim but the music provides a real counterpoint by being really lush and uplifting. If you want to hear something even bleaker, but equally beautiful, by him when you're on youtube check out the link for crappo the clown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.