horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Muuuuuuuuuuum!

I'm hungry. Feed me. Feed me. Feed me. Feed me.

Fledgling Great Tits to begin the walk in the park, then some lovely light (and better photos truth be told) for the Lesser Black-backed Gulls and Greylag Geese at the pond, Swifts wheeling about above, Swallows and Sand Martins and House Martins skimming the surface, the Grey Heron roosting for the night, while Moorhens click unseen in the reeds at their newly sprung young, then two Red Foxes on the way back to the house.

Who needs Springwatch?

Especially when it seems to have turned into kids' entertainment... A friend of mine pointed this out on Facebook the other day, and I was glad to see it wasn't just me thinking it. Maybe it's because two of them used to present the Really Wild Show (which was superb, but aimed at those somewhat younger), and the other presenter is a prize pillock (have never taken to him). The Welsh guy is much more engaging (granted that may be because he's in Scotland and seeing beasts we have a chance of seeing - off to Skye in a week and a half, and where we're staying is the only place I've ever glimpsed a Hen Harrier); and the urban birder chap is superb.

Still, the webcams on the website are a nice background to work during the day, though the afternoon was spent out of the 'office' having lunch with a friend, then working from a cafe waiting for a work meeting. Terribly civilised. Also got soaked on the bike going in, but soon forgotten; and shouted(ish, he didn't really raise his voice) at by a pedestrian for going the wrong way down a bike lane he was crossing without looking in my direction (and for whom I had slowed completely to go round having seen that he hadn't seen), before pointing out to him that it was a two-way cycle lane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.