Snow in Christchruch

Woke up this morning to snow. and it is still snowing and we are well into the afternoon. It is so different from last years snow which was dry and lovely.
This snow is very wet and heavy.
I decided to go for a walk into our local park, as I had had such a good time photographing last year.
While in the Ilam gardens, there were many 'cracks' of branches breaking and crashing to the ground. I took many photos but decided not to stay in under the trees for too long.
I do not know if any one else finds the same, but you got out dressed for the snow, but it can be cumbersome, and trying to get to your camera bag, which has a rain cover on it is difficult. I always carry a towel to drape over the camera, as well as trying to balance the umbrella above the camera which is sometimes on a tripod.
The umbrella gets very heavy with all the snow on it, and it starts to ice, my glasses start to steam up, my rain hood prevents me looking in the viewfinder.
Then the camera lens gets a flake of snow on it, and you have to clean it off and make sure it is dry!
I sometimes wonder how I even managed to get a photograph.
But all the same I had fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.