Flannel Flower

Last night CCN and I drove into Katoomba and attended a Fund Raiser for the Blue Mountains Cancer Help Organisation.  It was held in the Grand Ballroom at the historic Carrington Hotel.  It was a wonderful night and we managed to catch up with many people who we hadn't seen for a couple of years.

It was the 10th Anniversary of the BMCH and we can both remember attending their fundraising launch.  I hadn't been aware until last night that their symbol was the Flannel Flower.  A most appropriate one - The Flannel Flower, as with all native Australian plants, needs to be adaptable and enduring in order to survive.


In the middle of each table was a vase with two beautiful Flannel Flowers in each.  I must admit it did cost me a donation, but I was happy and also determined to take the flowers home so that I could photograph them.  This is my blip for today, taken without the Extension Tubes, but I intend to practise over the next few days and see if I can improve on this effort.


Thanks to the blippers who have offered me some great advice on the new apparatus.  I can't wait to put it all into practise.  We only have three more days before the end of our maymacromayhem challenge, so let's make a big effort to post some stunning macros over the next three days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.